Mandatory Evacuation Ordered for Edisto Beach Ahead of Hurricane Irma

Posted by Meagan 09/08/2017


Updated on Saturday, September 9, 2017 at 9:00 AM

Released on Friday, September 8, 2017 at 9:00 PM


Contact Information

Meagan Utsey, Administrative Services Director


Colleton County EOC is at OPCON 1 (EVACUATION).


South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster has ordered mandatory evacuations for Barrier Islands in Colleton, Beaufort and Jasper counties, beginning at 10:00 AM on Saturday, September 8, 2017.  These Barrier Islands are Edisto Beach and Daufuskie, Fripp, Harbor, Hunting, Hilton Head, Knowles and Tullifiny Islands.


Colleton County Emergency Preparedness Agency will continue to monitor Hurricane Irma and post information via Facebook (Colleton County Emergency Preparedness Agency-Cert@cceoc) and Twitter (CCEPA-CERT@CocepaCert) to keep everyone informed on the tracking of the storm. 


We also recommend tuning into your local television and radio stations for the most updated Hurricane Irma information.


If you have any questions or need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact the Colleton County EOC @ (843)549-5632.